On 31 August 1991, the 6th Extraordinary Session of the Supreme Council declared the political independence of the country, which was officially named the Republic of Uzbekistan. 1 September was proclaimed Independence Day. From September 1991 to July 1993 the Republic of Uzbekistan was officially recognised by 160 states. On March 2, 1992 Uzbekistan joined the United Nations Organizations as equal member, and joined the Helsinki process by signing the Final Act of the Summit for Security and Cooperation. Since independence, an era of free development began in the history of the Uzbek people.

Today, independent Uzbekistan is also member of leading economic and financial organizations such as the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, the Economic Association of Black Sea Countries, the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development and a number of other prestigious international organizations. The interest of partners in developing relationships with Uzbekistan is explained not only by the great potential of Uzbekistan’s natural resources, but also by the effectiveness of its economic policy. To read more about history of Uzbekistan, please click here.


Population as of 1 SOct.2021 - 35.07 mln; Native Uzbeks - 84.4%; Urban -51%: Males/Females - 50/50; State Language: Uzbek

The Republic of Uzbekistan, situated at 41°N and 64°E , occupies the central place in Central Asia between two great rivers—the Amudarya and the Sirdarya. The Turan Lowland lies to the northwest, and the Tien-Shan and Pamir-Alay mountain ranges are located in the southeast of the territory. The Kyzyl-Kum Desert defines the northern part of the country. Five states are its neighbors: Afghanistan in the south, Kazakhstan in the north and northwest, Kyrgyzstan in the northeast, Turkmenistan in the southwest, and Tajikistan in the southeast. The total length of borders is 6,221 kilometers, and the state territory is 447.4 thousand km2 .  The highest point in the Republic of Uzbekistan is 4,643 meters.

The Republic of Uzbekistan has 35,07 million inhabitants. The average population density is 51 persons per km2 . The urban population makes 51,4% of total population. The average life expectancy of people in Uzbekistan is 64 years for men and 70 years for women. Uzbekistan’s population is dispersed among the territories of the Autonomous Republic of Karakalpakstan, 12 viloyats (oblasts), 163 tumans (districts), and 120 cities and towns.
The capital city is Tashkent, which has more than 2.7 million residents. The city possesses the highest economical, scientific and cultural potential in the country. Tashkent is political and economical center of the Republic of Uzbekistan.

Uzbekistan’s flora contains more than 3,700 species of plants. Plants endemic to Uzbekistan make up 20% of all plants; and a majority of these grow in mountains. Steppes and deserts are home to a variety of bushes, and the low plains house well developed wooden, bushy, and grassy plants.  The country’s sub mountainous plains are characterized by grass, no trees, with small bushes are found among bodies of water. Various species of onion, tulips, rhubarb, and irises grow in sub-mountainous regions. Uzbekistan’s high foothills feature motley grasses. Deciduous trees such as almond, cherry, birch, hawthorn, maple, pistachio, poplar, wild apple, walnut, and willow trees are widespread. The lower mountains are rich in bushes: barberry, dog-rose, meadow-sweet, honeysuckle, and wild grape. Grasses are also very diverse, including muscat sage, rhubarb, tulip, Pskem onion.

In accordance with the Constitution, adopted on December 08, 1992, the Republic of Uzbekistan is the sovereign, democratic, law-governed state with Presidential form of government. The head of the state is the President, elected by public elections of citizens. The supreme state representative body is the Oliy Majlis (Parliament) of the Republic of Uzbekistan that exercises legislative power. The Oliy Majlis of the Republic of Uzbekistan consists two chambers — the Legislative Chamber (the lower chamber) and the Senate (the upper chamber). Cabinet of Ministers – The Government of the Republic of Uzbekistan is the executive power body of the Republic of Uzbekistan, ensuring guidance over effective functioning of the economy, social and cultural development, execution of the laws, and other decisions of Oliy Majlis, as well as decrees and resolutions issued by the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan.

GDP (2020): $57.71 billion; GDP growth rate (2020): 1.6% (2019: 5.8%); GDP – per capita (2020): $1,686
To download Macro-economic indicators for 2020, please click here.

Closest distance from sea (km): 2,950; Total road network (km): 81,600; Road density (km per 1,000 km2): 183; Paved roads (% of total): 87.3; Railway lines, total route (km): 4,126; Railway density (km per 1,000 km2): 9
More about Economy, Socio-Economic Development, Banking System, Fanance & Taxation, Science, Culture, etc. you can learn at the Government portal of the Republic of Uzbekistan, and at the website of the State Committee of the Republic of Uzbekistan on Statistics.


Republic of Karakalpakstan, Andijan Region, Bukhara Region, Jizzah Region, Kashkadarya Region, Navoiy Region, Namangan Region, Surkhandarya Region, Samarkand Region, Syrdaryo Region, Tashkent Region, Fergana Region, Khorezm Region. ​

Source: Governmental Portal of the Republic of Uzbekistan.

Uzbekinvest International